Western Australia TweetsWestern Australia Casino and Card Room GamingWestern Australia Charitable GamingWestern Australia Commercial BingoWestern Australia LotteriesWestern Australia Online GamingWestern Australia Race WageringWestern Australia Sports Betting

Western Australia Race Wagering

The Department of Racing, Gaming, and Liquor regulates Western Australia's betting and gaming. RWWA (Racing and Wagering Western Australia) was established to develop, promote and ensure the integrity of the racing industry.

The first recorded thoroughbred race in Western Australia was held in October 1833. Harness racing didn’t make an appearance until shortly after the turn of the century.

Upon the recommendation of a 1959 Gambling Royal Commission, the Wagering and the Totalisator Agency Board of Western Australia (WATAB) was established to become a unifying and organizing entity for off-course wagering.

In 1971, the popularity of greyhound racing was gaining momentum, and by 1972, the Greyhound Racing Control Act was passed, which included the formation of the Greyhound Racing Control Board. About 10 years later in 1981, the Western Australian Greyhound Racing Association Act was passed, creating the Western Australian Greyhound Racing Association (WAGRA).

Between 2000 and 2003, the government reviewed the entire racing industry and produced the Turner Report. The most significant finding from the report was a recommendation to consolidate into one controlling authority the off-course betting operations of the Wagering and the Totalisator Agency Board of Western Australia (WATAB) with the principal club responsibilities of the Western Australian Turf Club, Western Australian Trotting Association and Western Australian Greyhound Racing Authority.

In order to make the consolidation, Parliament passed the following Acts: Racing and Wagering Western Australia Act 2003, Racing and Gambling Legislation Amendment and Repeal Act 2003, Racing Restriction Act 2003, and Racing and Wagering Western Australia Tax Act 2003.

On 1 August 2003, and in accordance with the Turner Report, the RWWA was formed as the one controlling authority for racing.

Western Australia Race Wagering Properties

Albany Harness Racing Club
Albany Racecourse
Ascot Racecourse
Belmont Park Racecourse
Bridgetown Harness Racing Club
Broome Turf Club
Bunbury Harness Racing Club
Bunbury Turf Club
Busselton Harness Racing Club
Carnarvon Race Club
Central Wheatbelt Harness Racing Club
Collie Harness Racing Club
Collie Racecourse
Dongara Racecourse
Eastern Gascoyne Race Club
Esperance Bay Turf Club
Geraldton Harness Racing Club
Golden Mile Harness Racing Club
Greyhounds WA Cannington
Greyhounds WA Mandurah
Greyhounds WA Northam
Harvey Trotting Club
Junction Park
Kalgoorlie Boulder Racing Club
Kojonup Park
Kununurra Racecourse
Lark Hill
Laverton Racing Club
Leinster District Race Club
Leonora Racing Club
Marble Bar Amateur Race Club
Meekatharra Race Club
Mingenew Turf Club
Moora Race Club
Mount Barker Turf Club
Mount Magnet Race Club
Narrogin Racing
Newman Racecourse
Norseman Turf Club
Northam Harness Racing Club
Nor-West Jockey Club
Pingrup Race Club
Pinjarra Harness Racing Club
Pinjarra Park
Port Hedland Turf Club
Toodyay Race Club
Wagin Harness Racing Club
West Kimberly Turf Club
Williams Harness Racing Club
Wyndham Racecourse
Yalgoo Jockey Club
York Racecourse
About us | Feedback | Advertising
CASINO CITY NETWORK: Online Casino City | Casino City Times | Poker Zone | RGT Online | Casino City Press | Gaming Directory
Visit Casino City's Internet Directory
Casino City Home World Gambling Australia CasinosWestern Australia Casinos

Sign up for the
Casino City Times
Weekly Newsletter!
CasinoCity Exclusive Bonus Offers
Top 10 Vendors